top of page
Search

Hobbies to keep and skills to master in your free time!

If you want to learn a new skill or hobby in your free time but don`t know what to do, here you can find some very interesting and helpful Hobbies and skills to learn.


Today we are going to talk about-
  • Knitting

  • Crocheting

  • Writing

  • Poetry

  • Keeping a Journal

  • Art

 

Knitting

The first one is knitting. I have been knitting for a year now and it is just so helpful! It`s so interesting and is also a unique skill to learn. In knitting you make a fabric by interlocking loops of yarn with knitting needles. Knitting is also done on machines but we are talking about the traditional way. It isn`t easy but it`s not even that difficult. I learnt knitting at the age of 12, so, it may not be difficult at all!

One thing to keep in mind is that to learn knitting you need a lot of time and patience. You start with mastering the basic stitches first which takes about 2 weeks to 1 month. It depends on how much time you spend on it each day.

At the start you only need a ball of yarn and a pair of knitting needles! so, it isn`t expensive.

Personally speaking, I have knitted a scarf and a sweater and I am really proud of it. I learnt to knit from videos and tutorials, but now I prefer written patterns more.

Believe me, you will definitely not at all regret it later for sure. You will be really proud of yourself for utilizing your time to learn knitting.


Crocheting

Crocheting comes in the same group as Knitting. But, its very different. In crochet you use a single hook instead of a pair of long needles. Also, you only work with knots. In knitting you have to work with both of your hands but in crochet you use one hand to crochet and the other to hold the yarn. There are quite a lot of differences and pros/cons which I will talk about later.

I learnt crocheting before knitting. It is mostly used for making free hand toys and items but you can also make fabrics and wearables with it.

I haven`t used it to make any big projects yet with it because I prefer knitting more but everyone have their own preferences.


Writing

Writing is not just writing. What? excuse me for that.

I meant that writing has many different types. You can write short stories and one shits or even long novels and blogs. There are various genres too. You can write what you enjoy! You can start with some help articles and writing platforms, I have mentioned some of them in my last blog.

Writing is really interesting yet utilizing your time for enhancing your writing skills is very helpful for your future too!


Poetry

If you enjoy poetry more than stories and if you think that it is something you would prefer to learn then why not? It doesn`t mean that you need some amazing talent for learning poetry! You can start learning it from scratch. They are many help articles and tutorials etc. You can refer to some famous poetry examples for learning it! There are many poetry lovers everywhere who would love your work. Starting with some Writing platforms is a great idea. There are also some platforms only dedicated to poetry writers!


Keeping a journal

I already have a couple blogs on my website on this topic which you can read by clicking the links below:




Art

Don`t worry if your art`s not that great because you always have place for improvement! If you have time and willingness than you can do it! Again, there are different types of art. For not the physical art ones there is graphic designing!




So, that was it! I hope that you found this helpful, do let me know! Also, my mails are always open for your suggestions, reviews, questions or anything!


Written by-
Kirtana
Introvertkirtana@gmail.com



12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page